Lineman Apprenticeship Questions - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Linework

Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By Southeast Power

Old 06-14-2017, 03:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 6
Default Lineman Apprenticeship Questions

I will be brief. I am a married military vet with 3 kids. Married 17 years. Kids are teens. I am interested in breaking into the trade and have a few questions:

1. I know apprenticeship takes you all over the states within your region and lasts for about 3 years. How often are you moved from location to location. Are we talking a move every month or two or is it more stable?

2. I am 39 and in average shape. Am I too old to start as a lineman?

I think I would be good at this and want a career change. My main concern is that I also know children (especially of teens) need stability. I worry I would have to drag my wife and kids all over the state every few months and dont think it would be healthy.

I just need some real talk, guys.

-Joe
joebaggadonuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE