Under Cabinet Tape LED Issues - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Lighting Design


Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By jw0445
  • 1 Post By singleshot
  • 1 Post By dronai
  • 2 Post By JoeSparky
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2020, 02:06 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default Under Cabinet Tape LED Issues

I have installed 24V tape LED lighting under my kitchen cabinets. I am using a 200W power supply because I am also installing magnet switch operated in cabinet lighting.
The issue is with the power supply plugged in, my Delta Touch2O faucet will not work when touched. I have tried relocating the power supple as far away from the faucet as possible (about 10 ft). The faucet works as designed with the power supply unplugged. The power supply for the faucet solenoid is 6 AA batteries. I have found that if I hold the plastic battery pack in my hand the faucet works. I have tried using tin foil as a Faraday cage around the battery pack, solenoid and the LED power supply, none of these helped. I have also wrapped the plastic battery pack with tin foil and then with none insulated wire and grounded. This seemed to work but not consistently.
Any ideas? I can't be the only one who has had this problem.
singleshot is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2020, 02:19 PM   #2
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Rewards Points: 301
Default

With the 200W led power supply on, the faucet solenoid stops working ?
dronai is offline  
Old 02-13-2020, 05:00 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Fort Myers Florida
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronai View Post
With the 200W led power supply on, the faucet solenoid stops working ?
Same question

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
cburke0000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2020, 05:01 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Fort Myers Florida
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 2
Default

What if you unplug the 200 watt transformer?

Do you still have the same issue?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
cburke0000 is offline  
Old 02-13-2020, 05:38 PM   #5
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,416
Rewards Points: 320
Default

Sounds like "dirty" power from the LED driver is causing issues. You may need a different driver or make the tape light battery powered.

Ibtl.

Does the faucet work properly when the driver is off or unplugged?

Sent from my new phone. Autocorrect may have changed stuff.
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is online now  
Old 02-13-2020, 07:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jw0445's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kirkwood, Pa.
Posts: 1,230
Rewards Points: 1,836
Default

Two hundred watts sounds way overkill to me. Sounds like a power quality issue. IBTL
jw0445 is offline  
Old 02-13-2020, 07:18 PM   #7
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,416
Rewards Points: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jw0445 View Post
Two hundred watts sounds way overkill to me. Sounds like a power quality issue. IBTL
I installed a 150 watt driver on 7' of tape light the other day... it's about 100 watts too many, but I just did what I was told...

Sent from my new phone. Autocorrect may have changed stuff.
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is online now  
Old 02-13-2020, 08:26 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
jw0445's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kirkwood, Pa.
Posts: 1,230
Rewards Points: 1,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin_Essiambre View Post
I installed a 150 watt driver on 7' of tape light the other day... it's about 100 watts too many, but I just did what I was told...

Sent from my new phone. Autocorrect may have changed stuff.
If you look on the superbright led website the range for watts per foot vary from 1.5 to around 5 depending on what you're buying. My typical kitchen is a 50 watt or if doing top and bottom a 100 .
dronai likes this.
jw0445 is offline  
Old 02-13-2020, 08:59 PM   #9
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,416
Rewards Points: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jw0445 View Post
If you look on the superbright led website the range for watts per foot vary from 1.5 to around 5 depending on what you're buying. My typical kitchen is a 50 watt or if doing top and bottom a 100 .
I was also given the tape light to install. All it said was 96 watts. It was 16.4 feet before being cut down. We honestly have no clue the footage per foot of this stuff. If I really cared I could measure the LED's to find out the power draw per then determine the total wattage. I dont particularly care to though lol.

This is good to know though.

Sent from my new phone. Autocorrect may have changed stuff.
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is online now  
Old 02-14-2020, 12:37 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

The LEDs are 14.4W/m and I am installing about 13m of lights at 24 VDV.

The faucet works if the power supply is unplugged from the wall. It does not work the the lights are on or off. They are controlled by a motion sensor. I have moved the power supply to the top of the cabinets with a distance of about 4m+ from the faucet and it doesn't make a difference. Delta helpline is sending me an isolation bushing to isolate the faucet from the granite countertop. They think that might help because the mineral content of the granite can magnify any interference and if the faucet down pipe is touching the granite it can cause the solenoid not to operate..
I have also installed a voice activated unit that will turn the water on and off using Alexa. This works as advertised.
I have researched how the touch works and it is capacitive touch. When you touch the faucet it senses the increase in capacitance and the solenoid opens and when it is touched again the capacitance drops and the solenoid closes.
dronai likes this.
singleshot is offline  
Old 02-14-2020, 01:19 PM   #11
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 12,567
Rewards Points: 6,736
Default

Alexa?
Sounds like Google is jealous.

IBTL
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wirenuting is online now  
Old 02-14-2020, 03:50 PM   #12
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Rewards Points: 301
Default

Voice activated seems like a problem waiting to happen.
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
dronai is offline  
Old 02-14-2020, 04:07 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 1,065
Rewards Points: 2,069
Default

Alexa, turn off the faucet.
I'm not sure I can help with that

Alexa, turn off the faucet!
I'm having problems completing your request

Alexa turn off the damn faucet!!
OK, sending your location to the NSA
dronai and Kevin_Essiambre like this.
__________________
Swampy the Alligator for Moderator
* Make Electriciantalk Great Again! *
JoeSparky is online now  
Closed Thread

Tags
led, led drivers and rfi

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com