Help with Meter Pack - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Services and Service Equipment


Like Tree13Likes
  • 3 Post By ppsh
  • 4 Post By A Little Short
  • 1 Post By ppsh
  • 1 Post By A Little Short
  • 4 Post By A Little Short
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2020, 09:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,258
Rewards Points: 1,194
Default Help with Meter Pack

Can anyone help identify this meter pack from the pic?
It is a 400A with two 200A tenant disconnects.



__________________

A Little Short is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2020, 10:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ppsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 333
Rewards Points: 174
Default

Siemens WEP4212
ppsh is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ppsh For This Useful Post:
A Little Short (04-17-2020)
Old 04-17-2020, 10:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,258
Rewards Points: 1,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppsh View Post
Siemens WEP4212

Thanks!
I was thinking most likely Siemens because of the way the breakers looked. I couldn't find any sticker or other identifying marks in there.
__________________

A Little Short is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2020, 10:17 PM   #4
Liberal Lesbian
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 38,942
Rewards Points: 30
Default

So what happened? An excavator hit an underground conduit and pulled the conductors, bending those bus bars? And the conductors in the picture are the new ones you pulled in after fixing the pipe?
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2020, 12:02 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,258
Rewards Points: 1,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
So what happened? An excavator hit an underground conduit and pulled the conductors, bending those bus bars? And the conductors in the picture are the new ones you pulled in after fixing the pipe?

This is the first time I ever saw damage like that for an underground service. This happened when the tornado hit here last month. It took the pole out and pulled so hard on the wires through the underground conduit that it bent the buses.


Strange thing is nobody noticed it until this week. After getting the ok from building inspector to repair the building and get tenants back, they came to put the meter in and realized there was no pole! Supposedly, the meter had been opened and checked. But when the electrical inspector showed up he found this.


Don't ask me why the new wires were pulled in. It's only going to make my job harder!
__________________

A Little Short is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2020, 08:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,258
Rewards Points: 1,194
Default Update

I ordered a new meter pack from Siemens. When I went to install it I opened it up and it was completely opposite from what I need. Meaning the new one feeds from the right and I need a left feed. Center/meter section is the same. Load side is swapped. I had the SH call Siemen's and they said the numbers are the same but the layout changed. They no longer make the one with the feed on the left.


It would be a bear to change the underground feed and both load side feeds so I would like to find something else. Anyone know of another brand with left side feed or know a way to make this work?
__________________

A Little Short is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2020, 08:55 PM   #7
Liberal Lesbian
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 38,942
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Can you take the bus parts out of the new meter pack and fit those into the old one?

From the limited amount that I could see in your picture, it looks like maybe you could flip them over to work on the opposite side.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2020, 09:11 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,258
Rewards Points: 1,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Can you take the bus parts out of the new meter pack and fit those into the old one?

From the limited amount that I could see in your picture, it looks like maybe you could flip them over to work on the opposite side.



The new parts were different. Even if I could get them in the breakers would be upside down the way they mounted.
__________________

A Little Short is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2020, 10:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ppsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 333
Rewards Points: 174
Default

There are other 400a units that are left feed
Eaton
1MP2204RRLB
1MP2204RC

GE
tmm4220r
Quickservice likes this.
ppsh is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ppsh For This Useful Post:
A Little Short (04-22-2020)
Old 04-23-2020, 10:56 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Quickservice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Where people talk funny
Posts: 166
Rewards Points: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppsh View Post
There are other 400a units that are left feed
Eaton
1MP2204RRLB
1MP2204RC

GE
tmm4220r
If you have not already purchased... I would recommend the Eaton. I like the quality and lug arrangement much better than the last GE I had to fool with. Oh well... I'm just biased anyway... I always stick with Eaton or Square D if at all possible.
Quickservice is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 11:18 AM   #11
Liberal Lesbian
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 38,942
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Little Short View Post
The new parts were different. Even if I could get them in the breakers would be upside down the way they mounted.
I was thinking just exchanging the bent busbars. Leave everything else from the old meterbase.

But maybe you have more damage to the other parts that I can't see...
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 01:09 PM   #12
Banned
 
JoeSparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 1,944
Rewards Points: 2,089
Default

If you can't source one of the other meter packs suggested above locally or quickly, you have a few other options. You can get a modular meter pack. The tap section can go on either side in that circumstance. You could also extend the lateral conduit up a bit. Install a horizontal 2 meter socket with no mains. Install separate main breaker enclosures for each feeder and nipple up into it
JoeSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JoeSparky For This Useful Post:
A Little Short (04-23-2020)
Old 04-23-2020, 09:47 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,258
Rewards Points: 1,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I was thinking just exchanging the bent busbars. Leave everything else from the old meterbase.

But maybe you have more damage to the other parts that I can't see...

I took both the old and new pack apart and looked for ways to replace parts. The way the bus connects to the meter socket is damaged and the new connects differently.
HackWork likes this.
__________________

A Little Short is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 10:12 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
pjholguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 503
Rewards Points: 489
Default

Hello,
I just checked eBay and there are 2 for sale.

The Hooligan

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Little Short View Post
I took both the old and new pack apart and looked for ways to replace parts. The way the bus connects to the meter socket is damaged and the new connects differently.
pjholguin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pjholguin For This Useful Post:
A Little Short (04-23-2020)
Old 04-23-2020, 10:21 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,258
Rewards Points: 1,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjholguin View Post
Hello,
I just checked eBay and there are 2 for sale.

The Hooligan
Thanks!

I have another Siemens coming that is SUPPOSED to be what I need. But for Plan B, I have an Eaton on standby. I will have to modify the Eaton a little but I think I can get it to work.
__________________

A Little Short is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 10:24 PM   #16
Liberal Lesbian
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 38,942
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Little Short View Post
Thanks!

I have another Siemens coming that is SUPPOSED to be what I need. But for Plan B, I have an Eaton on standby. I will have to modify the Eaton a little but I think I can get it to work.
I hope it works out for you. I’d hate for you to come up... A Little Short.










HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 10:44 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
pjholguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 503
Rewards Points: 489
Default

You are welcome. Best of luck with what you have lined up!


Quote:
Originally Posted by A Little Short View Post
Thanks!

I have another Siemens coming that is SUPPOSED to be what I need. But for Plan B, I have an Eaton on standby. I will have to modify the Eaton a little but I think I can get it to work.
pjholguin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pjholguin For This Useful Post:
A Little Short (04-23-2020)
Old 04-23-2020, 10:46 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,258
Rewards Points: 1,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I hope it works out for you. I’d hate for you to come up... A Little Short.












__________________

A Little Short is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 06:48 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,258
Rewards Points: 1,194
Default Finally

I finally got an Eaton, left feed pack. All the KOs didn't line up but I was able to loosen the clamp on one of the 2" and get it in. It's a little crooked but better than trying to drill a new hole through the stamped KOs.



upload an image
HackWork, ppsh, splatz and 1 others like this.
__________________

A Little Short is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 08:56 PM   #20
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 3,190
Rewards Points: 5,216
Default

Standard procedure for us, is we would of punched a new hole wherever it needed to go to keep it plumb, and brought reducing washers with us in case it all fell apart on us.

I can give a little but not so much that it is visibly out of plumb.

Conduits ran in front of brick and mortar joints are pretty easy to tell when they are out...

Different strokes and all.
Cow is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com