Strange Service - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Services and Service Equipment

Like Tree5Likes

Old 05-24-2019, 09:37 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 4
Default Strange Service

Good morning, I am a electrical contractor working on an old old building. This factory was running during world war one. I’ll attach photos of the equipment to see. This factory is moving their facility and need all their equipment re-located. The majority of equipment is unlegible and nameplates can’t be read. So I want to match the voltage that feeds each machine and make sure I have that voltage in the new building.
The problem I’m running into is the voltage coming into the building is strange. It looks to me like a three phase system (4) wire but I’m getting 236V- ground on A phase
236V- ground on B phase
0V- ground on C phase
And 236 V between A B and C
This is with the main disconnect shut off and reading from the power company. A couple of the machines are legible and say they are three phase 230V-460v I put a call into the power company and they said that they do not have A service at that voltage. So I believe there is something wrong with the power coming in. I’m concerned if they correct it then transformers throughout the facility they put out a different voltage on the secondary. Depending on how they tapped these transformers. I guess what I am looking to understand is if anyone has ever heard of a voltage like this or have any suggestions. I just don’t want to hook up these new machines To 230V- 460V and find out they will not run at the new building.
Thank you in advance. Rob
Robbie Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!