Electrician Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a little background info... I'm a maintenance electrician working for a small Rocktenn facility in PA. I just graduated a tech school and earned my associates degree in February, and found my best class to be PLC's. I've already taken over the PLC duties at my plant (basic programming with Logix 5000 controllers) and would like to get into a Rockwell type of place as a programmer. The problem is the guys who work as programmers usually have lots of experience with the more complicated types of programs,which I unfortunately don't get to mess around with at my plant. I guess my question is, does anybody have advice on any relatively cheap online classes that can help to get me the experience with the more advanced programming?

·
RIP 1959-2015
10,750 Posts
Just a little background info... I'm a maintenance electrician working for a small Rocktenn facility in PA. I just graduated a tech school and earned my associates degree in February, and found my best class to be PLC's. I've already taken over the PLC duties at my plant (basic programming with Logix 5000 controllers) and would like to get into a Rockwell type of place as a programmer. The problem is the guys who work as programmers usually have lots of experience with the more complicated types of programs,which I unfortunately don't get to mess around with at my plant. I guess my question is, does anybody have advice on any relatively cheap online classes that can help to get me the experience with the more advanced programming?
Congratulations on graduating school:thumbsup:

Read every book you can find on the topic, and read this forum too, those guys are good http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/forumdisplay.php?f=2

·
Registered
5 Posts