Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
NJ Electrical Contractor
324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So i recently sold a job for a 20Kw Generator and the customer was informed that the ATS can only handle 2 AC units at most, He asked me what were his options if he wants to operate 5 Condensing units plus house loads:blink:? As a contractor myself, what options should i Give him to get this job going smoothly and give him his 5 Condensing units working off a Generator. Thanks,

·
Registered
2,559 Posts
Giorgio.g said:
So i recently sold a job for a 20Kw Generator and the customer was informed that the ATS can only handle 2 AC units at most, He asked me what were his options if he wants to operate 5 AC units plus house loads:blink:? As a contractor myself, what options should i Give him to get this job going smoothly and give him his 5 AC units working off a Generator. Thanks,
. 5 outside condensing units , or 5 window units ? That's a big difference . If it's 5 condensing units and a lot of house loads , I'm questioning the size of the 20 KW ? Have you done a load calc for what they want to have running ? That's step one .

·
NJ Electrical Contractor
324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
. 5 outside condensing units , or 5 window units ? That's a big difference . If it's 5 condensing units and a lot of house loads , I'm questioning the size of the 20 KW ? Have you done a load calc for what they want to have running ? That's step one .
Fixed! Condensing units*, Well, here is the thing, I did mentioned to him that the 20Kw unit will handle 2 Condensing units at most plus general house hold loads and he was fine with that, A 20Kw unit will handle just that without a problem, once i sent him the estimate he was happy with it but he gave me that curve ball of having his 5 CU on one Generator, I can simply sell him a 25Kw unit and call it a day.

·
Registered
2,425 Posts