Electrician Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an installation that needs a 240 volt line to neutral connection, the service is 480 volts 3 phase Wye feeding a 240 volt 3 phase transformer. This makes the 240 volts line to line, I need it line to neutral. I am thinking about putting a 277 volt to 240 volt step down transformer, the load will be less than 2 amps, will that cause any problems?

I have not been out in the field as an electrician for over 25 years and have forgotten what little I learned about 3 phase electrical installations, I now work as an electronics engineer at a small manufacturing company. I need the 240 volts to test/burn in power supplies for international destinations.

Don

·
Registered
4,664 Posts
Hi Don, welcome to the forum. :thumbup:

I cna't speak for your power supplies specifically, but I have used and installed many Kinoton Film projectors that are designed for 240v line to neutral on a standard 240 volt line to line circuit with no problems whatsoever. (Kinoton officially ok's such a connection.)

Unless you power supplies have some filtering or surge suppression components that connect neutral to ground (or chassis) that are rated less than the 240v they might see, there should (I'd say comfortably will) be no problem connecting them 240 line-to-line for testing at least.

If you use a 277 to 240 step down transformer, you will have too low of voltage on the secondary due to the primary being fed only 240 volts..if you are giving the correct voltages coming from your intended branch circuit in your OP. Or, use a 480v to 240v step down transformer and ground/connect one leg of the 240v secondary to the primary side neutral to give you a neutral for your testing.

But I feel that if the voltage you have coming from your branch circuit is 240 line to line you are wasting money with an additional transformer.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·