Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it possible to connect a 3 phase motor to 240V single phase without a convertor? I'm not comfortable with motors as I used to be a construction electrician and just switched to commercial.

·
Electrical Simpleton
3,350 Posts
You can also use another 3 phase motor to generate a third phase. In doing so you feed the generating motor single phase.

Pete

p.s. pretty sure it isn't code compliant but in a pinch it will work.

·
Electrical Simpleton
3,350 Posts
Pete, what you described is a rotary phase converter (as opposed to a static converter that uses capacitors). Article 455 allows it.
True.. but what I proposed is not a "listed" application... just a barnyard way of making it work.:laughing:

Pete

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks guys. Now I understand why the previous motor lasted only 2 years. It was installed by someone else and now I'm suppose to replace it. There was no OL or anything else, just a switch.

·
Bilge Rat
motors and controls.........
9,497 Posts
Is it possible to connect a 3 phase motor to 240V single phase without a convertor? I'm not comfortable with motors as I used to be a construction electrician and just switched to commercial.

View attachment 34615
If a 3Ø motor is connected to single phase power, it won't know what direction to turn, so it'll need its shaft turned a bit in order to get started. It'll also produce roughly 1/4 of its rated HP.

For a small motor like the on in the pic, the best way to run it on single phase is to use a VFD that's designed for single phase input. All VFDs output 3Ø, and will operate the motor very close to its rated HP.

Once you get over about 3HP, the VFD route gets expensive, but for smaller motors it's a reasonably economical way to go.