Electrician Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
stop pickin on Peter D...
775 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello.

My name is BP. I am a apprentice Inside Wireman, IBEW Local 106, western NY state.

I have over a decade industrial experience as a 'machine mechanic', 'millright', 'industrial technician', 'electrician', 'maintenance man', depending on who was talking to me or what plant I was in. LOL

First plant was a precision tooling and tool and die/moldmaking manufacturer, 9 years.

Second plant was a processing and packaging plant of ground beef, 4 years.

Last plant was just like the first, 1 year.

My skills are fairly proficient in electrical installations and troubleshooting machine electrical issues. I have excellent mechanical aptitude and good mathematical skills.

I have been studying the NEC for 2 or 3 years now, and have come to know that concentrating on electrical projects are my primary passion, professionaly. (As opposed to being on a ladder running EMT and having a production supervisor call up to me to go change a V-belt on a grinding machine or clean/empty a coolant tank with a wet vac).

The beef plant was the most challenging psychologicaly and professionaly. Those plants are notorious for inadequate training of the equipment operators, EVERYTHING is washed down with high-pressure water nightly, blown off with compressed air daily... However I learned the most about electrical schematic reading and electrical troubleshooting and installations than at any of the other plants.
Also, I had company-provided Leadership Training and I earned a EPA-certified Universal Refrigeration Technician Certification there.

I have a AOS degree in Electromechanical Systems Mechanics (currently billed as Construction & Maintenance Electrician due to some ciriculum changes) from Alfred State College, SUNY, College of Technology at Wellsville, NY.