Electrician Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I gotta install this horn i was told to connect two of these horns in series and then run them back to plc to be landed at terminal , my question is hiw would that look wired? I can run the wire to the horns connect them and then i would have to run extra wires back to plc??? Sorry im not very good with plc logic ..
Luggage and bags Trunk Automotive lighting Bumper Bag

·
Registered
Residential, lite comm., Industrial
3,827 Posts
why do they want them in series?
are you talking about the connected circuit or a single conduit for both circuits?

if you are connecting to a single PLC output (ie. a single terminal rather than two)
i would expect them to be wired in parallel, regardless of the piping

never mind the PLC logic, that is not what they told you to work on

hook it up in parallel, like you would 2 light bulbs on the same switch (think of the terminal as the output screw on the switch)
common neutral for both, common hot for both, common ground for both

if you are connecting to two terminals, then the hot is not common, it is separate to the horn from the terminal, but neu and g are still common

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
why do they want them in series?
are you talking about the connected circuit or a single conduit for both circuits?

if you are connecting to a single PLC output (ie. a single terminal rather than two)
i would expect them to be wired in parallel, regardless of the piping

never mind the PLC logic, that is not what they told you to work on

hook it up in parallel, like you would 2 light bulbs on the same switch (think of the terminal as the output screw on the switch)
common neutral for both, common hot for both, common ground for both

if you are connecting to two terminals, then the hot is not common, it is separate to the horn from the terminal, but neu and g are still common