Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
2,219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok. I'm still fairly new to the resi market. I am pricing the "can lights from hell" basement I posted in another thread. I am at 57 hrs including picking up permits and inspections. I have Never done so many cans on one small project and am wondering where you guys are as far as labor per can or per circuit. Everything is open. The 30- 6" cans are in. The 32- 3" cans will be cut in after rock. Boxes for the 4 wall sconces and 4 pendants are not in yet. Don't waste a lot of time on it. I'm just looking for another set of eyes. The panel is in the corner. Basement is 30'x34'. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Chris1971 said:
Why not install 3" new construction cans?
I asked the HO the same question. Like I said, he already has the 6" cans installed. He is considering installing 3" rough ins, so he doesn't have to pay me to do it after drywall. And again, I am not looking for a price, just a ballpark in time. I'm sure there are a lot of Resi guys that can slam in some romex and wire cans pretty quickly.

·
Registered
8,054 Posts
Chris1971 said:
We've wired horrible designer layouts for businesses and homeowners. My opinion doesn't count as long as it's done to code.
Part of being an electrician is knowing how to design lighting layouts that are functional, practical, and aesthetic. If I was an EC and some HO asked me to install that abortion I'd let them know first that it's going to look like ass and I'd be happy to design build the lights. If they didn't accept I'd wire it their way

·
Registered
2,219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
ponyboy said: