Electrician Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I apologize in advance if this is the wrong forum for this, but it seemed the best fit...

It recently came to my attention that our local is hiring electrician apprentices. I understand how to use basic hand and power tools, as my father is a carpenter, and my s/o is a union millwright. In regards to electrical work though, I have no true knowledge/experience, and won't pretend that I do. I'm looking for any advice and resources I can on the trade to decide if it's the best course for me before wasting anyone's time.

I'm an avid weightlifter, so I'm not so concerned about the physical strain of the job. I know I'm going to get sweaty, and dirty, and nasty, and that doesn't bother me. Virtually every position I've held in the past, I've held no knowledge of prior to hiring, but have been able to pick up with minimal training. I've been told with apprentices that it's actually preferred to have someone "green" as opposed to trying to teach an old dog news tricks, but I'd like to have at least the basics down so I'm not walking onto a job blind. I'm not looking to perpetuate the "clueless female" stigma.

Any resources, advice, suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I'm doing as much studying up and learning as I can, but the wealth of information out there is rather overwhelming. Like I said, I want to make sure I'm in this for good and can hold my own before wasting anyone's time.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4