Electrician Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to join the IBEW apprenticeship after high school. I know that many people apply and I have a chance of not getting called back after the interview. The people here have given me the pro's and cons on union/non-union. I first chose union but now I feel like going non-union, I think it would work with my plan.

I am in my first semester of senior year and next semester I am taking a college course offered after school in electronics. After high school I am going to attend a two year community college. I want to take as many career classes related to this field to have more experience and more job opportunities. My community college offers many classes and I was wondering which ones would be helpful. I have heard welding is really helpful and I have three options to choose.
Electronic classes offered

• Basic Electronics (taking next semester)
  • Circuit Analysis
  • Solid State Systems
  • Digital Circuits
  • Electromechanical systems
  • Industrial Robotics (Not-Interested)
  • Automated Systems (PLC)
  • Residential Wiring
People here have told me that welding is a good thing to know also. The welding courses have three options all in order.
Option 1: Shielded Metal Arc Welding

• Oxyacetylene Welding
  • Shielded Metal Arc Welding
  • Intermediate Metal Arc Welding
  • Advanced Shielded Metal Arc Welding
  • Gas Tungsten Arc Welding
  • Advanced Gas Tungsten Arc Welding
  • Pipe Welding Fundamentals
Option 2: Industrial Welding

• Industrial Welding 1
  • Industrial Welding 2
  • Industrial Welding 3
Option 3: Metal Fabrication and Welding

Any advice on what I should do? Would I be able to attend the community college while I try for non-union apprenticeship? I know there is a solar panel company near me offering an apprenticeship as a solar panel installer and I hope to do that until I get into the IBEW.

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,624 Posts