Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a second year apprentice. I get good marks in class and work hard during the day. Not the best but always ready to learn and I take direction well. I have tools and I started this career at 30, it's what I want to do.

Here's the problem. I have worked with the same journeyman since I started. He helped get me the job. We have know each other much longer than I have worked at the company. He has taught me a lot and I'm very appreciative of this but he is lazy. I don't mean show to get moving, I mean trying to find excuses not to get started working lazy. Long lunches, breaks, comes in late. Wants to leave early. Drives the long way everywhere. Smokes all day, not while doing anything. He uses my tools.

The good part about this is that I've gotten to get my hands on a lot of aspects of the job that guys with my time in haven't. A lot of panel and service work. Lots of print work as well.

Now though, it's gotten to the point where I don't feel like I can take it anymore. I don't want to go run my mouth but it isn't right. I don't care what he does, I just can't stay on his "schedule". I just want to work.

One time he told me not to come back from break early because it would make him look bad. I told him it wasn't me making him look bad... Didn't go over well.

Do I say something or let it go. Just try to get put on with another jman?

What would you all do?

I feel like dirt on the days I know at could have got more done but how hard can I push?

·
Registered
15 Posts