Electrician Talk banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All.

I am an apprentice Electrician and trying to organize work for my neighbour but want to see if it's possible or if anyone has already done something similar. This is not DIY project. We will be getting my company to do all the electrical work.

I am looking for any advice on getting a 400A service to the existing duplex. They have two 200A panels one for each side. One of the sides wants to add an additional 400A panel with 20 20amp breakers. We are in BC but it's not for a grow-up :). They are running mining machines that require 220 volts and each machine consumes 4kw/hr or 96kw/day or 2880kw/month. The owner has an option to place those mining machines in the garage or he also has a shipping container next to the house. It would be ideal to have a second hydrometer so he can set up a business account with Bc Hydro for a cheaper rate. According to my calculation 20 machines consuming 4000W/hr is 2400 kW/a month which will give them 0.097$/Kw/hr.