Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Beam Me Up Scotty
Elechicken
2,399 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I just booked a job installing some security cameras and associated gear for Friday. I'm not the one operating the aerial work platform, but I will be in the basket.

I have a harness, but i am wondering if I need anything other than my standard shock absorbing lanyard.

If only this was next week, as my working at heights renewal course is tuesday... and I know its covered in that course...

Anyway, some advice on this would be helpful, as I've never worked in an aerial work platform before so I am not sure what I need.

Thanks,
Kevin.

Sent from my new phone. Autocorrect may have changed stuff.

·
Registered
2,501 Posts
Harness and lanyard plus anything the site requires like hard hat, etc

Put the tools in a bucket or bag as they get all over the place. (a magnetic bowl also helps to keep the small screws together instead of using the control panel)

As you move so will the basket. Once you except this is normal and its not going to fall over its no big deal. If the person driving is going to travel a distance bend your knees slightly as there's no suspension.
If its windy you may fell sea sick. If you puke then we are all going to laugh.

·
Beam Me Up Scotty
Elechicken
2,399 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If its windy you may fell sea sick. If you puke then we are all going to laugh.
I've done work on tower cranes and trees... plus boating... I'm sure I'll be fine lol

Thanks for the tips though.

·
Light Bender
plumber
5,846 Posts
If only this was next week, as my working at heights renewal course is tuesday... and I know its covered in that course...

Curious, where are you taking the update course? I thought all training providers in the province were shut down?

training was not on the list of “essential service” that came out yesterday.

·
Conservitum Americum
8,730 Posts
Just don't have a 15 foot shock absorbing lanyard on a 14 foot lift.