Electrician Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have having a nuisance problem with a 15a cb it keeps tripping randomly when there is barely any load at all. This breaker protects a bedroom that has one incadesent fixture and four receptacles. The only thing that is really used in this room is a computer and printer. I heard that some times electronics can cause tripping or combined loads. Any suggestion on making this stop besides changing to a regular cb. And yes I know that violates code but it's very annoying. I'm an industrial electrician and rarely mess with AFCIs. Thanks

·
Administrator
Retired EC
23,152 Posts
An afci can be troublesome. Is this a new one? Does it trip when certain things are plugged in or just totally random- middle of the night type thing? I would seriously look at the printer or computer. I had the same issue years ago with a Siemens older version of the AFCI. People cmplained that the computer room would randomly go out. I changed it to a new version afci and all was better- no issues.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
An afci can be troublesome. Is this a new one? Does it trip when certain things are plugged in or just totally random- middle of the night type thing? I would seriously look at the printer or computer. I had the same issue years ago with a Siemens older version of the AFCI. People cmplained that the computer room would randomly go out. I changed it to a new version afci and all was better- no issues.
Yes it is a newer GE only about 2 years old. And it is a middle of the night type thing. Or just randomly throughout the day. It is the only AFCI in the panel that does this. Others have larger loads like ceiling fans and tvs. So I'm guessing it's just a reject!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It is a newer GE AFCI. It is a middle of the night type thing. All the other AFCIs in the house don't do this so I'm assuming it a reject!! Thanks.

·