Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

Trying to wrap up a job and the AFCIs are all tripping when I plug something in.

I have 2- 20 amp dedicated bathroom circuits and
1-15 amp for lighting.

Sq D homeline panel

This is my first time working with this contractor and not sure if they hit my wires or I'm missing something else.

The circuits hold on a regular breaker.

Thanks!!!

·
Electrical Simpleton
3,350 Posts
Check to see if you have neutrals and grounds touching somewhere in the branch circuit(s).

Pete

Reactions: Hippie

·
Registered
11,762 Posts
Megger the circuits. Check that the hots, neutrals are only for that circuit the breaker protects (no crossing of hots or neutrals from other circuits). Check that no hot to ground or neutral to ground shorts exist.

·
ET rocks
2,875 Posts
Stuff does happen. i had one that wouldn't hold on any breaker for some reason.

It is odd that all three won't hold. Check everything out in the panel. Correct N's landed on the breakers etc. (not that i have ever done that.:whistling2:)

Also, it could be whatever you are plugging in, like a bad cord or sump'n.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Megger the circuits. Check that the hots, neutrals are only for that circuit the breaker protects (no crossing of hots or neutrals from other circuits). Check that no hot to ground or neutral to ground shorts exist.

Okay thanks!!!

The circuits are dedicated. Sorry I should have state that.

I plugged in a battery charger that works on existing circuits and then the lights are basic halo cans.

·
Registered
268 Posts
test with a continuity tester to see if the neutral and ground are shorted together , it might have a screw through it. Circuit would still hold with a standard breaker. Dont forget to remove the neutrals from the terminal bar at the panel when testing

·
Registered
11,762 Posts