Electrician Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I have just gotten laid off from my printing job. I have over 20 years experience in the printing industry and that industry has been declining for decades.

For a long time now I have been considering the electrician field. I have the opportunity to get training either through IBEW/JATC or ABC as both are local.

My concern is, however, that at my age and with a herniated disk in my lower back and neck, the physicality of starting as a cub in this job will be too much for me. I am fine as far as the disks in my back and neck go but if I were to overdo it, I would have a problem. I did not have surgery for these but rather healed them through chiropracty.

Is there a type of electrician work that is a little kinder to the back than others?

Thank you so much for your input!

·
Registered
439 Posts
changing out equipment, fixing this and that. could work at like a Keebler factory, they make cheese its and cookies. lots of control work. factories like older men who are slow, not quick and wanting to get things done very fast.
you get into other stuff too like fixing doors, just maintenance.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks!

Thanks a lot for your reply.

Sounds like it would not be as high paying as other electrician type jobs. My other interest is automotive electrical systems, which I've already taken a couple of courses in. That's sounding better actually.

Too many cookies will put on the paunch LOL:laughing:

Thanks a lot!

·
Senior Moment
7,771 Posts