Electrician Talk banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently moved out to Alberta (Calgary more specific) to look for someone to take me on as an electrician apprentice. I am currently about to start handing out applications and was looking for hints and tips when applying. As in what do when applying in person, what are some good questions to ask? Is phoning up smaller residential companies and asking if they are looking for work a good idea? I have a bachelors degree and have worked labour jobs all my summers; A very responsible hard working person. If you know anyone that is hiring could you let me know or any contacts that I may follow through with that would be awesome. Thanks.

·
Registered
194 Posts
I think if you spend enough time on the yellow pages and google maps, you can build a pretty good list of over 100 electrical companies with a place of business in the city of Calgary. I'd aim for 125-150. Map out each on a hand drawn map then you can see the most efficient route to visit them all with a resume. I figure 3 out of 100 is pretty reasonable odds given your willingness to start the trade and how busy the city is with work right now.

Your biggest obstacle is speaking to someone in a hiring position as that's a much better chance then a blind resume left with the receptionist (oddly enough though, this is exactly how I got hired so always leave one, you just never know).

Try and find the best way to word the following - you are interested in a career with XYZ electric, here is your resume, is anyone around that maybe has 5 minute to talk? if not, understandable. You'd like to maybe follow up in a few days on that resume, who is the best person to contact?

You could always cold call or apply online. I think the best approach is in person but that's just me.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Just like FP suggested, map it out on Google Maps.

When I moved to Alberta, I did exactly that.