Electrician Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi , just thought i'd introduce myself.
I'm a qualified carpenter/joiner unhappy and bored with my industry.
I was going around the local mining companies seeking employment as a trade assistant, even at entry level the money is way better than i get in my trade, anyway's i came across this one company that said "oh no , we don't hire Trades Assistants we only use Apprentices" , only by coincidence the HR manager was there in the office and heard my story i was spealing to the secretary and he basicaly offered me an apprenticeship. Inside i scoffed and thought "I cant afford to be an apprentice, Mortgages don't pay themselves!" So i started asking some questions and the pay is realy good, 1st year apprentice between $23 and $30 an hour which is a very respectable pay here in Australia. Also sponsorship from RioTinto because of the horrible skill shortage. I'v spoken to my wife and all sorts of other paople and they offer only encouragement to do it. And i want to do it.

So, i have a great mechanical mind, can solve problems, confident with any type of tool or machinery and enjoy new projects, but the thing i'm a little worried about is my math skills. I was no dummy at school and no mathamatician in class. Probably just bellow average because i was easily distracted and little interest in maths.

I started doing a little training in Triganometry, algebra, geometry and calculus and realises i know jack **** about it. I'v got quite a while untill i start college and will do some catch up work.

Did any of you find the Math extremely hard or struggled? How did you get around it?

I hope i'm doing the right thing.

Cheers

Thanks for reading.

Damon.

·
Licensed Electrician
171 Posts
If it's what you want to do, then go for it. If you really want to do it you'll figure out the math, I did. Good Luck........:thumbsup:

·
Registered
4,465 Posts