Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
4,460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been wondering myself is joining an Union is worth it.

I moved from Philadelphia down to New Orleans, and despite the city atmosphere, I tend to feel the general southern attitude as against the Union. I felt the same sentiment out in Lawton, Oklahoma as well.

So far I've been deterred to joining a Union, but it sounds like whatever the Union has to offer has got to be better than what I have now.

I'm new to the electric field. I took a building maintenance class in Philadelphia which only covered basic circuits and theory. I'm currently working with a non-Union company who's owner used to be Union. As a helper I'm being paid 10.00 an hour. The only benefits are that after 90 days they would pay for half of my personal insurance, which I couldn't afford anyway.

I live fairly frugally, I even bought a bicycle to get around locally, and only use my car for long trips and getting to work. I drive an 87 Accord, which as old as it is, is a gas sipper (averaged 31 mpg last time I clocked it).

10 bucks just ain't cutting it. My savings are starting to dwindle.

Not only that, but I don't feel like I'm learning as much as I could be. One of the guys I was helpin' told me he had me doing some of the work incorrectly, but didn't care because he wanted to go home.

I've been told I won't learn as quickly in the Union, but even if I learned slower but got paid more, I'd definitely be able to deal with that.

Really, is there any reason not to join the Union?

·
Semi-Retired
1,289 Posts
There are three basic reasons to not join the union in a given locale.

1) The merit shop pay and benefits are comparable or better.
2) There isn't any (or much) actual union shop jobs to work on.
3) The union won't let you in.

·
R.I.P. 2014
4,722 Posts
There are three basic reasons to not join the union in a given locale.

1) The merit shop pay and benefits are comparable or better.