Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an apprentice in the ibew in San Diego. I have just finished my first year and know I want to take my career into higher up positions than journeyman and foreman. I have been looking into a bsee because I like challenges and enjoy solving problems. I have also thought of project managment because I would enjoy the challenges of running a job. Looking for some insight from others who have taken paths like mine. I have found a bsee degree I would be able to complete while still being in the apprenticeship. Have only found an associates in construction managment even though it does not seem like most jobs require any degree. Thanks for insight. Bsee is a bachelor in electrical engineering if you ask.

·
Registered
3,328 Posts
I am an apprentice in the ibew in San Diego. I have just finished my first year and know I want to take my career into higher up positions than journeyman and foreman. I have been looking into a bsee because I like challenges and enjoy solving problems. I have also thought of project managment because I would enjoy the challenges of running a job. Looking for some insight from others who have taken paths like mine. I have found a bsee degree I would be able to complete while still being in the apprenticeship. Have only found an associates in construction managment even though it does not seem like most jobs require any degree. Thanks for insight. Bsee is a bachelor in electrical engineering if you ask.
What's up bra!

·
Registered
5,648 Posts
I did it (BSEET), but it was tough, REAL tough. I had a wife and kid when I finally got back to it, my son referred to me as "that man" because he hardly ever saw me. Took me 4 years to finish the last 2 years (I had an AA already).