Electrician Talk banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently a first year apprentice and curious what other peoples experience with the schooling portion was. It's unlike any college I've done in the past meaning, your sent home to complete homework assignments prior to covering the information in class. You then come back to class and go over it. Once in awhile we hit a concept/topic that is so new to me I spend hours trying to grasp it, or digging through multiple textbooks to find correct information. This is all before we've had a chance to cover it in class. I'm wondering if this is standard operation thorough out NJATC training centers?

·
13,020 Posts
I teach a JATC apprentice class.

How it works with us is that the students are provided with a class schedule at the beginning of the year with scheduled dates for each Unit test. They're about 2 weeks apart. They have a curriculum outline and all their textbooks, so they take that stuff home and read it, work on problems, etc. In class, I review the main stuff and field specific questions that they come up with from their homework. Then they take their test, and subsequently start on the next unit.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yea that sounds like what we do. We go over certain things more in depth in class. I just don't like not completing homework 100% because of getting hung up in this or that. We have class every other week, test every other week, code tests sporadically as well. It's just different and I'm adjusting. When I was in college we covered lessons then went home to complete homework and I never seemed to struggle like I am now. My grades are good and I'm doing well, it just takes me a lot longer to do my homework and when I get hung up it's frustrating.

·
13,020 Posts