Electrician Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
"Mainstreet"
1,248 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am currently doing a house remodel and I have no experience with arc fault breakers. I am wanting to know if I have bedroom lights tied into a arc fault if I will have issues like I remembor reading about in the past.
Do they have broader tollerences now or will I be kicking myself if I leave it?
BTW Hi everyone!:)

·
Registered
6,162 Posts
Wireman191 said:
I am currently doing a house remodel and I have no experience with arc fault breakers. I am wanting to know if I have bedroom lights tied into a arc fault if I will have issues like I remembor reading about in the past. Do they have broader tollerences now or will I be kicking myself if I leave it? BTW Hi everyone!:)
What code cycle you on?

·
"Mainstreet"
1,248 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I just want to know if they will trip when tied to a lighting ckt. As far as I know and last checked we have to use them in bedroom ckts.

·
Registered
2,923 Posts
You have no choice to AFCI protect bedroom lighting per the 2011 NEC.

210.12 Arc-Fault Circuit-Interrupter Protection.
(A) Dwelling Units. All 120-volt, single phase, 15- and
20-ampere branch circuits supplying outlets installed in
dwelling unit family rooms, dining rooms, living rooms,
parlors, libraries, dens, bedrooms, sunrooms, recreation
rooms, closets, hallways, or similar rooms or areas shall
be protected by a listed arc-fault circuit interrupter,
combination-type, installed to provide protection of the
branch circuit.
Outlet. A point on the wiring system at which current is
taken to supply utilization equipment.

·
Registered
2 Posts
You're required to put it on an arc fault breaker if you add to, or alter the residential lighting circuit. What brand breakers are in there? The newer ones don't seem to have tripping issues if the wiring Is done well (no overly tight staples, rusty exhaust or fan motors).

·
Registered
798 Posts