Electrician Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey fellas, I am a fourth year apprentice currently living in Australia. I am nearing the end of my time and wish to further my knowlege of the trade. I am considering obtaining a High voltage licience and undertaking a diploma of electrical engineering. It details a further understanding of electronics,instrumentation, process control and deeper electrical theory.(This is not a university degree, but a trade school expansion course)

If any of you are involved in the industrial sector (as this is where I wish to take my career) could you please tell me if these skills would be of value in your country and abroad. I am thinking of chasing work on the oil rigs to help set up my young family. Moving to the U.S is a likely option if the money is there for me.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Sean,

Forget chasing jobs on oil rigs etc, unless you are in the know of someone already working on a rig - you stand little chance of getting on one.

Australia has plenty to offer, why leave to chase the big dollars when they are already in your back yard.

Mining is a big money area in this country as you would know, and in the Industrial sector, there are always positions available for good sparkies, especially if you have knowlegde of PLC's and to a degree - instrumentation, data transmission and line work etc.