Electrician Talk banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Banned
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks. Hopefully someone or some of you can help me figure this wiring and lighting dilemma I am having. If it gets too complicated and I can't figure it out, my last resource is find and pay an electrician to come and assist.

First, I am not an electrician. Just a simple retired new homeowner. but can do basic things, such as change out 1 way or 3 way light switches and simple things. So please try to be easy on me for answers, questions and advice.

I bought my retirement home in NC. It's an older home (early 70's) brick ranch with a full unfinished basement. The older couple that lived there for years of course done alot of the inside work themselves it appears. So here is my problem and issue. I'll try to describe it as best I can without an drawing or diagram.

My unfinished basement has 6 lights. There is only one major switch from the main breaker controlling/powering all 6 lights. The wire comes out of the breaker box to light #1. From there, splice black/white/ground wires 'T' off and go to the other 5 lights in what appears to be a loop. Is this normal? All of the 6 lights each have pull-string switches to each. Opening each of the switches, it appears the wires are always black to black, white to white and ground.

In one area of my basement I need better lighting. So I cut off the power and purchase 2 of those recessed lights with brighter bulbs. Like before, I hooked up black to black, white to white and ground to ground...