Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a student getting ready to enter the program, so I hope its ok to ask a question or two (and if not, apologize)....

I am replacing some outlets for my parents. I am vaguely familar with NEC 300.13(B) and MWBC's but i need clarification.

I know it critical to pigtail the neutrals prior to the circuit spliting the neutral. However, I am unclear.... Is it neccesary to pigtail the neutrals after the two circuits split?

I realized that the outlets on both legs of the MWBC, after the box where the neutrals are split, are fed thru each other... not pigtailed. Do these need to be rewired?

Hopefully this question is OK in this forum, if not I will go back to lurking... I have learned alot from this forum while reading it in my spare time. Thanks. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
3,353 Posts
I know it critical to pigtail the neutrals prior to the circuit spliting the neutral. However, I am unclear.... Is it neccesary to pigtail the neutrals after the two circuits split?
You don't have to pigtail them after they split.

Youre good to go.

Reactions: soe

·
Rest In Peace
6,298 Posts
Let's say your using conduit. You don't splice the connection but strip off the insulation to wrap the screw of the device. Legal?

·
Registered
3,353 Posts
Let's say your using conduit. You don't splice the connection but strip off the insulation to wrap the screw of the device. Legal?
As long as the wire doesn't rely on the device for continuity.

·
Registered
2,559 Posts
aftershockews said:
. Yes , because you're not counting on the continuity of the device as a feed through . It's an unbroken conductor and the circuit integrity I still intact on device replacement , or that's what I think anyway , lol ?

·
Banned
11,766 Posts
After the split no pigtailing is needed since if the device is taken out it will not break the neut and cause a voltage imbalance.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #8