Electrician Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a customer who want to use a 10kw Briggs and Stratton home standby generator as the power for his remote garage where he stores his landscaping trailers ect. Theres no way to get power up there without having several poles installed to get service there so he just wants to go this route. Im just not sure if the generator will allow you to run it in the maunal setting without a transfer switch being present. I know that if theres a fault with the transfer switch the generator throws an error code and wont start. So if the generator sences that theres no transfer switch present, will it go into a error code? I've never tried this before.

·
Registered
448 Posts
I have a customer who want to use a 10kw Briggs and Stratton home standby generator as the power for his remote garage where he stores his landscaping trailers ect. Theres no way to get power up there without having several poles installed to get service there so he just wants to go this route. Im just not sure if the generator will allow you to run it in the maunal setting without a transfer switch being present. I know that if theres a fault with the transfer switch the generator throws an error code and wont start. So if the generator sences that theres no transfer switch present, will it go into a error code? I've never tried this before.
How are you going to power the generator? Propane?

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yup propane. Hes currently using a portable gasoline generator up there which is wired to a panel running the lights, recepts and such. I want to save him a few bucks without installing the transfer switch panel and just use what he has existing there because there really is no need for the transfer switch. (no utility power present)

·
Registered
12,412 Posts
I have an 8500 watt Briggs powered and I just pull the rope.

·
Registered
407 Posts