Electrician Talk banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am NOT an electrical professional. The site rules say to go to a DIY forum, but I am NOT a DIY electrical guy either.

I am considering starting a small business (minor business legally) out of my house running computer servers.

Right now I live in an older house with a 100 amp panel, and aluminum wiring throughout the house.

IF I decide to proceed with this project, I will hire an insured electrician to do the work. What I am trying to do now is calculate pricing so I can build a business plan. I have already contacted my city electrical permit department, and left messages. They do not seem to be very inclined to get back to me.

What I want to do is set up the extra bedrooms in my house with outlets to run hands off servers 24/7. A server uses 1650 watts, my house has 120V power (each server will then draw ~13.75 amps), so really each server needs a dedicated 20amp line (as far as I can tell).

Questions -

1. if I make changes to my house electrical, do I have to redo ALL of the wiring (because it is aluminum) or can I just have the old wiring attached to a new panel?

2. What is the biggest panel I can put in a residence? I see lots of houses with 200 and 225amp panels, and I have heard of 400amp panels. Can I put in a 600amp panel? How do I tell what the upper limit is? I would like to be able to run my normal house stuff (~100 amps) + up to 25 to 40 servers (25 servers to start is the price breakpoint where you can negotiate discounts) (40 servers eventually plus my household stuff would be stressing a 600amp panel, and if I can get that big, I would look at renting a commercial facility).

3. Do I need to price enough 12gauge wire for every line to go from the breaker panel to the server room, or can a heavier line be run to the server room and then split 15 to 20 ways (2 server rooms, so I would do this twice)?