Electrician Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been a jman electrician for the past 10 years and am ready for a change. I've done a combination of oil and gas, agricultural, residential, and quality control work and have worked in a foreman capacity on multiple job sites. I'm currently making 75k a year working in the lower mainland of BC, Canada. I want to build on my current skills sets and work experience to transition into another higher paying job role.

I would be willing to do some additional training/schooling but nothing too crazy because I'm 45.

Would really appreciate any ideas, thoughts, and suggestions you might have.

Thanks.

·
Registered
381 Posts
have you looked at power engineering? Much of that is learned on the job, distance learning, etc. Check with bcit.

I transitioned to marine... not for the money, but the shift-work makes for more time off and less painful commuting. I looked at other trades, but they meant starting over on the wage scale.

·
Registered
Power distribution and controls
431 Posts
We here in the US call it a PE license. Professional Engineer, takes training, and passing some tests. Here your licensed by the state and can draw and stamp plans. If you hustle it might add another $40 k a year.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
have you looked at power engineering? Much of that is learned on the job, distance learning, etc. Check with bcit.

I transitioned to marine... not for the money, but the shift-work makes for more time off and less painful commuting. I looked at other trades, but they meant starting over on the wage scale.
Thanks for the suggestion. Definitely going to look into that.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
We here in the US call it a PE license. Professional Engineer, takes training, and passing some tests. Here your licensed by the state and can draw and stamp plans. If you hustle it might add another $40 k a year.