Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm currently a 3rd year apprentice and I'm in Associated Builders and Contractors 4 year program. But before I started their training program I was taking classes on my own to get an associates degree in Industrial Electrical (emphasis on motor controls and things of that sort) and at the same time getting a certification in PLC's.

I've been told that a career with motor controls/ PLC's is in very high demand and also pays very well. But when I get on job posting sites such as indeed.com or careerbuilder it seems that most of the jobs that come up when I search for "PLC's" require that you have a B.s. in electrical engineering.

I guess my question is for anyone who has experience in these fields, what kind of jobs should I be searching for when I'm done with my schooling? Will this degree/certification do much do boost my résumé and further my career? Or is it just a bit of a waste unless I plan to continue on and get an engineering degree?

Any thoughts, suggestions or info would be greatly appreciated.

·
Bilge Rat
motors and controls.........
7,147 Posts
Im a motor controls / PLC / instrumentation guy. No schooling, lots of studying at home and on the job training. Look up diagnostic electrician, or E/I tech... might be what your looking for..
I do a ton of control/PLC work as well.

Same here, no formal education at all.

I went to work for an electrical contractor, did all sorts of different stuff, and sort of dropped hints now and then that i understood controls.

After I had worked there for about a year or so, we did a co-generator at the local sewer plant. The crew that did the install didn't know much about controls, and the drawings left a LOT to be desired.

When the smoke had cleared, the project manager asked me if I knew anything about controls. He then sent me to the job to see if I could straighten it out, which I did.