Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I quoted a job for 4 ceiling fans, 2 requiring new wiring, and 2 to replace old fans. All needed to be hardwired to a switch. I qupoted a total of 750.00 for EVERYTHING and did not win the bid. I think that was a pretty low bid. Where can I find the reasonable paying customers?

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
I am by no means an expert at "finding the reasonable paying customers" but my first suggestion I use to qualify peoples need for an estimate is a charge for the estimate. I generally subtract the price of my estimate fee from the work when the work is completed with in 30 days. I have found it helps two fold: 1. If they balk at the price for an estimate they are usually price shopping and won't have the work done. 2. The 30 day limit helps with people calling years later wanting the estimated price. If it's like 2 months later or something like that (within reasons) I'll usually do the work.
Bear in mind though my business is mostly referral as I am a one man band.

·
felonious smile.
15,934 Posts
That's cheap to begin with, I charge $300 for fan box/ 3wire/ 1 switch and hang customers fan each on new construction.
I once had a customer who called me telling me about a guy charging $100 to install box and hang fans and wanted me to match his price, I asked him for the guys number stating that I too needed a couple fans installed in my house and for that price, I'll hire him too.

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·