Electrician Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So many little issues that are popping up, that honestly as an industrial electrician I haven't given much though of until now. My home will have a firewall 5/8 drywall between the garage and living area. The master bedroom is cantilevered over half of the garage. I was going to surface mount my subpanel on the firewall between and drill through the wall for the feed and also drill holes through it for nmd branch ccts. I am thinking these holes will be in violation, however I doubt the inspector will say anything. What I would like to know is Does anyone mount metal device boxes in the wall or octagons in a firerated ceiling? Or do you surface mount? I have central vac pipes etc that should also go through the wall. If this can not be done this way to code I can mount all of my equipment on an exterior wall however this means many more bends and lengths of conduits for the vacumm and vertical lift etc. Please advise.

·
Senile Member
I make all the electrons line up for their Flu shots
35,177 Posts
There are square inch restrictions in the IRC about fire rated walls. Panels usually exceed those restrictions unless you box them in and keep the rating. Best way to check is to ask the local inspectors and let them give you the rules before you start. and some got their ''own'' rules also....

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,618 Posts