Electrician Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Fluke 117 that I LOVE.... (Although recently I have began to doubt it so I ordered new leads but am still wondering if its working right but another story for another thread.) I work in the machine repair field. We travel all over and troubleshoot machine issue and repair as needed... Most of the time we are in louder areas so the continuity tester on my 117 is pretty impossible to hear... I would love for their to be some visual thing on the screen that showed I had a completed circuit but all it does is make a sound. A very low volume sound at that....

My question is are there any tips or tricks to make that sound louder? Or can someone recommend either a whole new unit that is louder or has visual aid for continuity. I hate to ditch this meter but really hate to have to carry another tool with me.

·
Premium Member
2,014 Posts
Some of the purists are not going to like this bit what I do is make my own.
I use a 28VDC Sonalert that you can get from most Industrial electronic supply houses and series 3 nine volt batteries and a switch to turn it off and on. You might want to series a 1/2 amp fast acting fuse just for a added layer of safety. Mount all this in a small chassis box with some alligator leads and are good to go.
Now it is not very loud but you would be surprised what ambient noise you can hear it over. Does a lot better than s DMM continuity tester.

LC

Reactions: Miller6386

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Some of the purists are not going to like this bit what I do is make my own.
I use a 28VDC Sonalert that you can get from most Industrial electronic supply houses and series 3 nine volt batteries and a switch to turn it off and on. You might want to series a 1/2 amp fast acting fuse just for a added layer of safety. Mount all this in a small chassis box with some alligator leads and are good to go.