Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
5,687 Posts
jeromjenkins said:
Anyone use craftsman drills and impacts for commercial work?
My first screw gun was the craftsman 14.4 and it took a good beating and never let me down. That was back in the late 90's though.

·
Armed and Unhinged
424 Posts
My wife got me the 20v lithium ion "bolt on" drill. Use it for commercial and works great, more balls then a ridgit or ryobi. Charges fast, and the batteries last forever.

I though I would burn the motor out in a month or two doing commercial, but it has lasted. Came with the drill driver; she also got me the impact, and the jigsaw attachment. Both work great. I seen they also have a sawzall attachment, but I already have a sawzall. Looks like the Milwaukee 18v compact one.

Saves space and weight, 2 batteries is all you need. I have cut 1/2 RMC in tight corners with the jigsaw, but I would just get the sawzall since they have that out now. I have no experience with the hammer drill attachment either; I have a big bosch for that.

Long story short; I thought it would be a DIY'er tool that wouldn't withstand professional use, but it has proven me wrong. Everyone I have worked with thought very highly of it. Great xmas gift that has made me a lot of money. I have also dropped it from 20' and it survived; no problems or complaints.

·
Registered
10 Posts
I have been using a 12 volt nextec right angle impact daily for just over 2 years and its still going strong.

Mainly residental and commercial service not much new work anymore though.

·
corn-fused
4,769 Posts
wife bought me one a couple years ago. it stays in the garage. batteries suck, but overall the tools arent ntoo bad. not for comm.!

·
Registered
5,687 Posts
jeromjenkins said:
I ask cause I am low on funds and need to buy one for work. If anyone had any suggestions, they are welcome.
I love ryobi. I abuse my ryobi stuff daily and it holds up just fine.

·
Electrical Contractor