Electrician Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I suppose this should go in the Apprentice Interview thread, but I wanted to tackle a different angle. Anyway, as stated elsewhere, I took the NJATC aptitude test, and feel like I did well. So, I'm going on the assumption that maybe - just maybe - I will score an interview. The thing is that I'm changing careers in a somewhat large way. I currently work in bio-medical research science as a statistics monkey and writer. Before that, I was a marine biologist/teacher. My major in school was biopsychology. The marine science world does require a bit of hands-on mechanical skill, and I did work as a cable installer of sorts while in college. But only part time. And minimally at that. Anyway, the point of this ramble is that I'm suddenly aware that my paper-based work experience isn't going to impress anyone at the interview. I feel as though I need to highlight the small areas of my recent work that can be "crossed over" (but not like that asshat John Edwards) to the field of electrical work.

Any tips and or advice?
Cheers,
J

·
Local 134 - A Card
200 Posts
When I recently interviewed, it was not at all geared towards what work experience you had in the past, but more towards the following: your work ethic, goals, if you were afraid of heights and capable of lifting heavy things, why you want to enter the union, are you aware and capable of the traveling that may be required between job sites, what you would do to ensure to showed up on time for work regardless of where the job site was and what you would do in unfamiliar situations....