Electrician Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I'm new in Canada and want to build 2 sub-panels with DIN rail parts for my apartments. But I can hardly find all needed components. First, circuit breaker with CSA are available for DIN rail e.g. from Schneider, Siemens or ABB. But they are very expensive, about 3-4 times the price in Europe. Unfortunately, the European versions almost miss the CSA logo. I also need remote dimmer, relais, PLCs and some other home control parts. They all haven't a CSA sign...

How can I use those parts without getting in trouble with the electrician code? Can somebody explain me, what is allowed and what is mandatory?

Thank you so much,

Volker

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for your fast reply. I want to control lights, blinds, heating and cooling. A brick PLC from Koyo, bought in Canada, comes without an CSA sign. Honestly: I have never seen a PLC with a CSA logo, but there are millions in use in Canada ;-) I also will control LED lighting with remoted dimmers, they are installed in the panel and controlled with a 0-10V voltage what comes from the PLC. Everything is absolut standard for home automation, but nothing comes in DIN form factor with CSA. Components with CSA are built "by guess and by gosh", in unusual shaped plastic or metal boxes, but not with a consistent form factor. I could take Crestron stuff, for 10 times the money what I spend when I build my own, custom system. Than I had the choice between "bricks" and DIN and also for 19" rack mount. But I don't want to spend 15k if I can have the same result for 1.5k but with standard components.

Honestly my question: what are all the home automation installers doing in Canada? They can't use DIN stuff because missing of the CSA sign but they also can't use "brick" parts, because nobody want's to have a 10 sqft plywood board somewhere on the wall with flying wires...