Electrician Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an architect so please hold back your criticism, lol. I'm trying to give my client the best advice possible. They have what appears to be an old Cutler Hammer 100 amp panel and it is nearly full.

I don't see a main disconnect switch.

Few questions:

1.) Is it easy to get Cutler Hammer Breakers?
2.) What circuit would break if there is not a main breaker and we draw over a 100 amps?
3.) Would you recommend putting in a sub-panel or replacing the entire panel?

·
Banned
39,205 Posts
I'm an architect so please hold back your criticism, lol. I'm trying to give my client the best advice possible. They have what appears to be an old Cutler Hammer 100 amp panel and it is nearly full.

I don't see a main disconnect switch.

Few questions:

1.) Is it easy to get Cutler Hammer Breakers?
2.) What circuit would break if there is not a main breaker and we draw over a 100 amps?
3.) Would you recommend putting in a sub-panel or replacing the entire panel?
You should have your customer consult a licensed electrician.

Why would you be giving him advice when you clearly don't know what you are talking about?

I know that might come off as blunt, but it's true, right?

Should I go to a shoe salesman to ask about heart medication?

·
Super Moderator
Retired
17,183 Posts
I have never heard of an architect worrying about electrical at all?
Do you have any dealings with the electrical aspects of a dwelling? Multi family dwelling? High rise condos? Penthouses in Manhattan? Museums?
I'm not going to shut this down, yet. I would like to hear what an architect does other than design?
And why one would come here to ask electrical questions when your profession does not deal with these things.

Thanks In Advance Matt.

·
Administrator
Retired EC
23,139 Posts
On small residential jobs architect often draw in what needs to be done electrically.