Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
4,460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
- as a means to identify an outlet.

The foreman has been having me dead short outlets so that we can spot which breaker it's on because every outlet needs to be labeled in the Dialysis Clinic we're working on.

He's taught me to use a solid 12 gauge wire bent in a U shape, held by my lineman's, and pushed into the receptacle.

Sometimes I can't even tell I tripped it, other times there's smoke and black soot on the wire and the outlet.

I'm new to all of this ****, so what do I know, right? Still, little flags have been waving that this may not be the most ideal means to identify circuits...Feedback?

And if there's another way that isn't too time consuming, I'd appreciate the pass-along.

Late EDIT: We didn't trip all the breakers, just a few that weren't showing up where we thought they should be.

·
Town Drunk
3,725 Posts
Nothing like teaching an apprentice something stupid.... :rolleyes:

I'm new to all of this ****, so what do I know, right? Still, little flags have been waving that this may not be the most ideal means to identify circuits...Feedback?
Almost any other way is better.
If the place is un-occupied, the old standby of having 1 man at the outlet, and another at the panel flipping breakers still works fine.

There are several products on the market that are not overly expensive for locating breakers, as well.

·
Registered
885 Posts
- as a means to identify an outlet.

The foreman has been having me dead short outlets so that we can spot which breaker it's on because every outlet needs to be labeled in the Dialysis Clinic we're working on.

He's taught me to use a solid 12 gauge wire bent in a U shape, held by my lineman's, and pushed into the receptacle.

Sometimes I can't even tell I tripped it, other times there's smoke and black soot on the wire and the outlet.