Electrician Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a 6' long peninsula that extends out from the wall connecting one side of the kitchen counter top, with a receptacle on the end of it as needed. On the wall opposite side of the peninsula I have a receptacle 2' from the end of the peninsula at recep height.
The back of the peninsula is permanent cabinetry, no wall.
I have less than 12' of wall or partition space between my peninsula recep and my wall recep.
Can the peninsula recep serve as my 6' rule or do I have to add another recep where my question mark is? Can't find anything in the code.
See diagram

·
animal lover /rat bastard
13,547 Posts
I'm not an expert, but it looks like a pass to me (would be nice to see the entire floor plan though cause I can't visualize the rest of the room)

·
Donuts > Fried Eggs
17,042 Posts
I've been down exactly this road. Ended up with two sets of receptacles, one to serve the bar, and the ones down low to satisfy the room receptacle requirements. Check out 210.52(A) specifically the definition of "wall space" in (A)(2)(3):
The space afforded by fixed room dividers, such as freestanding bar-type counters or railings.

·
Flex Bits & Blindfolds
1,120 Posts
Does the peninsula divide two rooms? Kitchen and dining room for example. If so, 210.52 (2)(3) applies
The space afforded by fixed room dividers, such as
freestanding bar-type counters or railings
Which means yes. If it's surrounded by the kitchen, and not a room divider, it passes.

On a unrelated not, based on the definition of a peninsula you do not need a receptacle at the end.
210.52(C)(3)
Peninsular Countertop Spaces. At least one receptacle
outlet shall be installed at each peninsular countertop
space with a long dimension of 600 mm (24 in.) or greater
and a short dimension of 300 mm (12 in.) or greater. A
peninsular countertop is measured from the connecting
edge.