Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 119 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a Home Inspector. Love us or hate us, we are out there, and a -few- of us try to stay up-to date, educated and aware...

That said, our job requires us, in most states, to open and inspect residential electrical panels. No touching, no modifications, just inspecting. This USED to be considered a Level-00 arc flash risk until they did away with the zeros...

I am arc-flash aware.., I know that some residential panels have -very- high surge/arc potential as they may be just a few feet away from a large transformers feeding many many houses on a street. So, I wear nomex & leather gloves when I open panels along with my safety glasses. Minimal for sure, but more than many do...

So my question for all of you is: What precautions do you take when INITIALLY opening a unknown residential panel? Gloves, glasses, does your employer provide any flash rated street clothing? Do you buzz the outside of the panel first, or just test it with the back of your hand? I am lucky in the only thing that has "bit" me so far after 20 years was a GFCI that exploded when I pressed the test button... and I want to keep it that way.

PS... a few inspector friends have been burnt when they were -removing- screws from a panels, pointy screws, that some idiot had put in and all but pierced a feeder... when they moved the screws, boom... some have been burnt badly, others just had to change their underwear. I have refused to open some panels because I could -see- non-factory screws, drywall, lags, metal self tapping or similar. I don't get paid enough...

·
Registered
Industrial Mostly, Panels and drives
109 Posts
Yikes! I am not an inspector, nor have I tried to be. I have helped friends out before but I have never had any of these issues.