Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 133 Posts

·
Premium Member
19,489 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was concerned about getting it. We are somewhat of a purple state so, what this means is that the most populated parts hunker down and the more rual parts are not that much concerned.
I have been traveling the state for work and noticed people are not much concerned about contracting Covid-19 outside of the SE part of Florida.
I tested negative for the antibodies but, still wear my PPE when esonntering a business or in close proximity of others. Just out of respect.
I know of one person that has Covid-19. He is home sick and is a maintenance guy at one of the facilities we had a project on.
I haven't seen him in a month or more.
My youngest son tested positive for the antibodies, he has been in Texas on military bases since early December.

I'm an electrician, not an epidemiologist. I don't know anything about their work and they don't know anything about mine so, neither of us is in a position to challenge each other in their field of knowledge.

My personal opinion is there has to be a balance somewhere. The service industry is taking a massive and possibly irrecoverable hit. I don't know of many people that in that biz except a few friends of my kids.
The very sad thing is they are called back to work with 2-day shifts, working for tips, so that the employers don't get hit with the unemployment expenses.
I don't know much about how it works but, I've done a hundred layoffs and didn't feel like it cost much of anything.
I don't understand the game.

I do believe very strongly that if you order a lockout of a person's livelihood, you should expect to pay for that order.

·
Registered
Scada Supervisor
3,535 Posts