Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Electrician
4,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to drill through a poured concrete wall that also has styrofoam insulation and has stucco with (I assume) metal lathe holding the stucco.
The HO said everything together was probably about 12" thick.

I'm probably going to need a 2" hole if I use 1-1/2" pvc. I'm guessing a core drill would be best, but I've never used a core bit before.
Is that the best way, and if so, what kind would I need to drill through both the poured concrete and the lathe/stucco?

I have a web site that I use to buy drill bits from and they have the core bits but they are expensive.
do they rent those in the rental places?

Thanks!

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,618 Posts
I need to drill through a poured concrete wall that also has styrofoam insulation and has stucco with (I assume) metal lathe holding the stucco.

I'm probably going to need a 2" hole if I use 1-1/2" pvc. I'm guessing a core drill would be best, but I've never used a core bit before.
Is that the best way, and if so, what kind would I need to drill through both the poured concrete and the lathe/stucco?

I have a web site that I use to buy drill bits from and they have the core bits but they are expensive.

Thanks!

A core bit is best for this job,you've got to make sure that it looks perfect,by the bit it will pay for itself over time.

·
Registered
1,437 Posts

Thanks!
I would drill a 2 1/2" hole. You should re-foam.
1 1/2"
PVC od is 2". That'll be tight.

·
Registered
2,172 Posts
Best core drilling I ever witnessed was freehand; guy walked up to a brick wall with 5" diamond hole saw w/glooves on a electrical hand drill and sent it right through. It still stumps me when I think about.

I'd get a 1' long pilot bit(predrill), and a appropriate bit for auger.

PPE and Go Steady.

:rockon:

·
Registered
3,450 Posts