Electrician Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm not sure if this is the appropriate sub to post this but here we go.

I am a recent college grad with a degree in electrical engineering. I landed a job straight out of college without breaking a sweat. I currently work for a power design firm in Chicago where I sit in an office all day and perform calculations. I am constantly bored.

During school, I spent two summers interning is a power coop. My favorite time spent there was when I would go out with the lineman on an emergency and get to watch them work. The time seemed to fly by whenever I was out in the field.

During this internship, I spent a couple months in the field surveying. Despite being a fair skinned kid walking corn fields in 100 degree heat, I really enjoyed it.

This is why I am considering making the switch to an electrician/lineman. Have any of you heard of someone doing this before? Does a degree in electrical engineering at all help my possible electrician/lineman career? How do the salaries of an electrical engineer and a electrician/lineman compare? Are there power engineering jobs that would have me out in the field a lot?

Thanks for taking the time to read all that!

·
Registered
Electrician & Electronics Technologist
1,254 Posts
I have my Bachelor of Technology in Electronics Engineering Tech, so not quite Electrical Engineering, but probably somewhat similar. I went almost straight into apprenticeship to be an electrician after schoole, mostly because I didn't want to be at a bench or office all day, and I didn't want to work in the city, so my options were pretty much just to become an electrician.

The electrical theory helped through tradeschool a lot, and really helped in control system troubleshooting. A lot of the electrician work I did was control stuff, so that was quite beneficial.