Electrician Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Administrator
3,785 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

I graduated high school (barely) in 1970 with no idea what I was going to do, I tried working at a gas station, roofing and down spout and gutters, nothing seemed to hold my attention nor seemed like something I wanted to do long term.

A friend I had worked with at the gas station had taken a job as a warehouse manager at a large electrical contractor. This contractor needed summer help for off loading trucks and stocking the floors of this large project. On my second day an electrician needed a helper and he asked my friend who was the best worker he had, he pointed to me and I went to work as a helper.

At the end of the summer most of the summer help was gone and this project was winding down, I looked around and realized there were only a few helpers left, I thought to myself, durn I guess I am going to be an electrician.

I bought a 1968 NEC, subscribed to EC&M (expensive at that time) and started reading. The next summer I was wiring condos for the same firm, with a very lazy electrician, he showed me how to rough in completely and after 2 or 3 condos told me I could play mechanic and he would be a lazy apprentice. We had 15 some crews wiring these condos and there were a slew of problems. I was put on a crew doing the punch list before turning over to the real estate firm. I truly believe trouble shooting all those condos is what sharpened my skills in all aspects of the trade.

From there I worked for several firms, service electrician, wiring hospitals, schools, gas stations, federal facilities. But my big break came when I went to work with a firm that was staring a testing and maintenance division, the one stipulation was you had to be willing to work OT. I jumped at the chance. We were one of the first firms in Washington DC to perform IR, I learned a slew about trouble shooting grounding issues, power quality ground faults and GFPE systems.