Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Administrator
Community Manager
3,327 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Fall 1974 at 14 years nine months I walked into electrical shop in high school, and got started right then and there, 2 hours every day, we were on the 1971 NEC, less than $10... :eek:If your grades were good on everything else you could come in on Saturdays and go out with an EC and do residential work, mostly roughing houses, some old work and some commercial----back then if you had the state working papers you could go do electrical work in the field, today I believe you must be 17,or 18 Today. But I would have to look it up.

On the first Saturday this old timer said "HEY YOU", "you're with me". This guy learned me good and he did just about everything, anyhow I worked summers with him full time, and one week per month while school was on. and yes I skipped school so I could go work instead as much as I could get away with :laughing:

Spring 1977 I graduated HS and off I went with the old man, however late that summer he decided to retire and go to Florida. So at that point I could not find a Job as an apprentice, because the economy was so bad.

Fall 1981 I found a job with a big commercial EC, we did malls, office parks all through the 80's I worked my way up to foreman and ran huge Jobs that I do not think I could run now, too much stress, Summer 1989 the recession began and really lasted till 1995, but it was nothing like the late 1970's at least you could find a Job, but I really screwed myself never getting my Journeyman license all through the 1980's--What was I thinking :rolleyes: .