Electrician Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a used Fluke 123 scope meter so I can check sine waves of DC pulses from a encoder for troubleshooting purposes.
I read the user manual, but I am still a novice at using this meter.
Should I be able to measure VAC and sine waves from a 120 VAC receptacle in my house?
I'm afraid I may have a bad meter.

thanks

·
Registered
1,768 Posts
you should be able to measure sine waves by putting the probe tip next to the insulation of a live conductor/power cord. You DO NOT need to touch the probe tips to a live conductor to get a sine wave. You should be able to put the probe tip from channel 1 (or channel "A") up to the insulation, press AUTO, and wait for a few seconds and a waveform should display.

Another safe way to check if the scope inputs are not dead is to make sure the scope channel is set to DC coupling, trigger on auto, and volt/divs around 500mv and then you just connect the negative/"ground" probe terminal to one side of a AA battery and the probe tip to the other side. You should see a "noisy" line go from one level to another, i.e.. 0 volts to 1.5 volts.

If the scopemeter is in good working order they are designed to connect to line-voltage, but if it's not in good working order I wouldn't recommend it. IIRC the 123 has channels fully insulated from each other and from everything else which would let you hook it up in ways that would make the older fluke scopemeters, and most modern benchtop oscilloscopes detonate.

If you wish to buy a scope from ebay make sure you see a waveform displayed in a picture for both channels. If you do not see a waveform assume the inputs are dead. The reliability that you expect from Fluke multimeters doesn't necessarily carry over to rebranded Phillips oscilloscopes. For those I recommend Hewlett Packard/Agilent, tektronix, or something still under warranty.

·
Registered
1,768 Posts