Electrician Talk banner

Friendly reminder for the red seal grant

4K views 46 replies 15 participants last post by  Martine 
#1 ·
If you've changed levels (or have worked a minimum amount of set hours in a year in Quebec) don't forget to claim your Red Seal grant!

Men get 1,000$ per level (for two levels maximum) and then 2000$ when you become a journeyman

Women have a special grant to try to get more women in the trades, it's 3000$ per year (for two levels maximum) and then 2000$ when they advance to journeyman level.

There's a time limit and they do NOT backdate if you miss it. You have just under a month after sending in your online application to send in your required documents.

:glasses:

#5 ·
I joined when I was a student. In Quebec we have to do 1800 hours of schooling (about a year and a half) before ever stepping on a job site. I’d also be a 2nd year by now but I’m pregnant and not working. I have under 300 hours left to be a 2nd year, so I’ll be doing that once I’m done my maternity leave (which is pretty long in Canada, haha)

#8 ·
I think my wife has it tougher than I do right now, because I can go to work still. I can get out during the day. The kids are home with her and though they are allowed to go places there really isn't much to do. My oldest is doing remote learning from junior highschool and my guess is that will go to the end of the school year at this point. Probably wise as the worst hasn't made it's way from either Boston or New York. Hopefully you can get back to work soon or when the time is right. Been streaming a lot of shows to keep entertained. Things could be worse and I don't know anyone locally that has this yet. Stay sane and things will get better.

#9 ·