Electrician Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
military medicine (I know right)
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys, basically I’m here to gather good information before getting into it.
Little about me, I’m a Corpsman spending most of my career in the Infantry and part of it in a Naval Hospital in the ED. Prior to the Military I was a volunteer firefighter, so basically I like being outside. Currently on my last deployment before I get out and when I get back I’ll get to meet my two sons.

Plan is to either attend the military sponsored lineman school as a transition out though I may not have enough time to do that so I’ll have to go to school once I’m out In early/mid 2022.

I have a strong interest in transmission or aerial (seems that one will take some years to get to from what I gather) work simply because it’s up high and outside and I like that type of stuff but I’m unopposed to really any sort of work.
My pops and uncle were lineman for bellsouth back in those days. And I have a couple buddies who work in distribution back home.

I’m pretty used to being away for long periods of time 1-10 months ish. Though I’d like to not be gone for 2+ months at a time now that I’m a dad except for natural disaster type work, I’m down to be out there til she’s all good, on the other hand I don’t mind traveling to work at all. After five years of it I’m pretty accustomed to it. Missed a Christmas or two.

Mostly drawn to this type of community of people if that makes sense. Lot of people tell me you have to be okay working outside in different environments, which is basically my entire job right now so I should be fine there.

I have a lot to learn, and trying to get some learnin’ done early. I’ll have finished my associates degree and recertified my EMT (I’m sure that one doesn’t matter) by the time I’m out as well. So hopefully I’ll be able to create a good resume and get some employment. Got some little boys to take Fishin

thanks fellas

·